2022-2023 Board of Education
Meets to Swear in New Trustees

from left: BOE members Amy Nofal, Sam Orans (vice president), Sally Cantwell, Ariana Cohen (president), Andrene Smith (secretary), Rob Weisstuch, and Athena Maikish

The Board of Education met recently for what is traditionally called the annual “reorganization meeting,” where new Board members are sworn in; leadership is elected; and District officers and other personnel are appointed for various year-long positions (such as District Treasurer, independent auditors, records access officer, etc.).


Community members Athena Maikish and Amy Nofal were sworn in as Board of Trustees members, replacing Rina Beder, who just completed her second three-year term on the Board, and Christian Zambrano, who concluded his three-year term. 


Ariana Cohen and Sam Orans were elected Board president and vice president respectively. Andrene Smith was elected secretary. 


The Board Policy Committee spent last school year reviewing and revising the District’s Code of Conduct from an equity lens, with a focus on commitment to utilizing restorative practices. The new Board adopted the revised Code of Conduct.