Senator Mayer Presents Jirandy Martinez
with Women of Distinction Award

On Women’s Equality Day, New York State Senator Shelley B. Mayer presented Community Resource Center Executive Director Jirandy Martinez, a lifelong advocate for social justice and immigrant rights, with the 2022 New York State Senate Women of Distinction Award.  


Senator Shelley B. Mayer said, “I am thrilled to present Jirandy with the 2022 Women of Distinction Award. Jirandy has been an indispensable force for structural social, political, and economic change in the lives of immigrants in Westchester and across New York. Most recently, in the wake of Hurricane Ida last September, which devastated Mamaroneck and destroyed the Community Resource Center’s building, Jirandy and her team assisted over 300 community members whose lives were upended by the storm. She is a tremendous force for good in our community and is extremely deserving of this award.”


Community Resource Center Executive Director Jirandy Martinez said, “I am honored. This award is not mine alone – it belongs to my team and to the people. I hope that other young women who identify as first generation, immigrant, daughters of working families, feel as proud and inspired as I do to receive this Women of Distinction Award. ¡Si se puede!”


A Mamaroneck native and daughter of hard-working Colombian immigrants, Martinez started her work with CRC in 2008 as an ESL teacher. Since becoming executive director in 2016, she and her team have dedicated themselves to empowering immigrant and low-income families by providing the resources and advocacy to help them become self-reliant and thriving members of the community. Currently, CRC serves over 3,800 individuals in Westchester County through grassroots direct-service and partnerships with dozens of community organizations. 


The New York State Senate Women of Distinction Award is given annually to one woman in each Senate District for her outstanding contributions to the community. A virtual ceremony recognizing all the 2022 honorees is available on the New York State Senate website. Senator Mayer has previously honored Elizabeth Baird Saenger, Rhiannon Navin and Nicole Scheindlin with this award.